Daesan Literary Awards


THe 21th(2013)
The prize money in each category for the award has been raised to 50 million KRW this year. The judging system has also changed so that the prize in the drama and criticism category is awarded on a biennial basis. Candidates for the Daesan Literary Awards included literary works published or performed between August 2012 and July 2013. The first round of judging took place for three months, starting at the beginning of June. During the final round of judging, which lasted for two months from September, the Foundation selected the winning works in each genre. This year, one of the most notable trends was the outstanding performance of young writers in their 30s and 40s, signaling a generational shift in the Korean literary scene. Here is the list of this year’s winners: Jin Eun-young in the poetry category for A Stealing Song; Kim Soom in the fiction category for Women and Their Evolving Enemies; Koh Yeon-ok in the drama category for Father in a Scabbard; and Choi Yang-hee in the translation category for The Jehol Diary.
Each winner in the four categories will receive 50 million won in prize money (200 million KRW in total prize money). Winning works from the poetry, fiction, and drama categories will be translated into different languages for the 2014 Translation Grants program to be published by a local publisher. The award ceremony was held at 6:30 pm on Dec. 3 at the International Hall in the Korea Press Center in Central Seoul.