Daesan Literary Awards


THe 17th(2009)
After establishing the second stage development plan for the Daesan Literary Awards, the management of the awards was upgraded: the prize money for fiction was increased, eligible novels were restricted to full-length novels, eligible books were reduced to books published between August of the previous year to July of the year the award is to be given..
Accordingly, works published or performed between August 2008 and July 2009 were eligible for this year’s award, and the initial screening process took place for three months starting in the beginning of June— the winning works were selected according to genre after the final screening process which started in the beginning of September and lasted for over two months...

The 2009 award winners exemplified the influence of the most prominent figures in our literary world. Chanho Song won in the poetry category for The Evening the Cat Returned; Beomsin Bak won in the fiction category for Gosanja; Kwangho Lee won in the criticism category for Anonymous Love; and in this year’s translation category (English translation), Bruce and Ju-Chan Fulton won for There a Petal Silently Falls, Gicheong Gim helping in the translation of Whisper Yet. A winner was not selected in the drama category.

The winners in each category received a plaque, and the fiction prize winner was awarded 50 million KRW. The winners in the other categories were awarded 30 million KRW..
The prize money totaled 140 million KRW; winning works from the poetry and fiction category will be translated through submissions for translation grants 2010, published into one of the major languages, and introduced to readers. The awards ceremony was held at 6 p.m. on Friday, November 27 at the International Conference Hall, Korea Press Center.