Daesan Creative Writing Funds


Winning Works
Winning Works
Genre Author Title of work(s)
Poetry PARK Jang-Ho The rain in November
JIN Eun-Young The rule of love
Fiction LEE Myoung-Lang A flippant on the pink
PARK Seon-Hee Here is the news
YU Hyung-Seok Swing by
Drama JEONG Young-Uk The remained house
Criticism LEE Su-Hyeong 'me',others,communication
Children's Literature HAN Sang-Sun The potato which has monster's horn
YANG Ji-Suk The gold reindeer
Grants from the Daesan Creative Writing Fund are designed to help develop the wide range of creative writing genres and to strengthen Korean literature by discovering and fostering talented new writers. Grants are given to writers who have been active for less than ten years in each of the five categories of poetry, fiction, drama, critical writing, and children’s literature; their works are collected and the beneficiaries chosen. The selected writers receive a grant of 10 million won, and the award-winning works are publicized upon publication. In 2007, 324 works were proposed and a committee of prominent writers evaluated each category. As a result, a total of nine writers received awards in the five categories, representing a total of 90 million won. While copyright and all other rights remain entirely the property of the authors, the winning authors must publish the award-winning work within the year. Starting from 2008, the foundation aims to launch a "Daesan Creative Writing Fund Series" to be published in major domestic publishing companies.

Certificates of support for the award-winning works were presented in a ceremony in the Auditorium on the 10th floor of the Kyobo Building on August 22. In 2007, eight books that had received funding including one book of poetry, two fiction novels, one drama, one critical review, and two children books were published.